Growing and learning - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Lindsay Janssen - WaarBenJij.nu Growing and learning - Reisverslag uit Parijs, Frankrijk van Lindsay Janssen - WaarBenJij.nu

Growing and learning

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lindsay

26 Juli 2017 | Frankrijk, Parijs

Dear loved ones,

It took me a while to update something about Paris Je t'aime. I think my laptop charger died, so I am not able to go on my laptop to write an update. And wifi was out for a while.

So here I am 45 minuts from Paris writing a blog about my adventures here.
It has been amazing but it has also been hard.
From thinking the days would been intense, the days are actually pretty relaxing. Because we travel 2,5 hours to the University were everyone from Paris Je t'aime is staying. And they have worship, teachings etc. But because we would have to travel at least 4 hours a days it would be very intense what I thought in the first place. But my friend she talked with some leaders to ask if we could only join open-airs (were we show Gods love with art, dance, rap etc) and now we are joining the evenings. Which is way more duable for us!

So in the mornings we have a lot of free time. And here I read my devotions, books and sometimes go out for a walk or see Paris. To have time for myself and God.

Every evening we have at least 3-4 shows. And here different groups and people from all over the world perform for free,
to share what is on their hearts for the people of Paris. We had a group from Chilli doing a lot of sketches and memes. We had a group from Kansas city doing a flashmob, memes and sketches too. A meme couple from Brazil. YWAM from Lyon and Champagne France. trEd a dance and percussion group from California; you should check them out!
My friend from Mexico singing Spanish. And we have rappers, many dance groups from everywhere. So many wonderful and amazing people!
I made some awesome friends who bring such joy to me and this event. And everyone is nice, open and so caring about each other. Such a blessing to have this great team :D

After every show we talk to the audience. To ask them about the show and share our hearts for God.
But this has been quiet hard for me. I am already not comfortable with talking to strangers and than sharing my faith is another step.
It has been a struggle for a long time. And I have realized that it isnt about how many people you bring to God and dont get me wrong offcourse we want that! But feeling like I had to talk to at least so many people and than at the end of the day feeling dissapointed about not even talking to anyone...

But I dont think it is our goal to give us this burden like... I have to talk to people otherwise I havent succeed. Or I need to have this beautiful prayer. All good offcourse dont get me wrong again. I think no matter how small or how big your prayer is or your effort is to talk to people. If it is from a right heart, I think even the smallest prayer is just as powerful as a long prayer and vice versa! I think I am trying to learn to not focuss on how other people do it so great, but to do things because I want to praise God and not to be heard by people. And this is easier to say than to do ;)

If we are only focused on what people may think about you in any situation. And if I act or dress like this. I will be accepted. They will hear me if I shout louder. That is actually pleasing people. Pleasing the world. We should please God right? And we even don't have to please Him. Sometimes I forget that He loves us even if we just lay in bed the whole day. Even if we don't try anything. And this reminds me of this spoken word. We can't do anything less or more to have God love us less or more. He loves you because He loves you and we can't change this! Look up: The inheritance (message by Graham Cooke)

I figured everyone has a different calling. A different way they communicate. A different way they care. A different way they think. And everyone has a different relationship with God. Some get closer to Him through music, to quiet time meanwhile others get closer to Him through dance or art. Be yourself. Be you and just be. It is okay if we haven't been talking to anyone. It is okay if you messed up your dance. Its okay if your hair looks messy today. Because at the end it is all about what He thinks of you and how He sees you and not the world. And this is not easy I know. I am still learning these things. Some things take time and that is okay too.

I guess I want to say just be yourself and share His love to who you are in Christ. Don't try so hard. He sees you. He sees you effort and heart.

And I think these weeks God is not only working through Paris Je t'aime but He has been working in me and others too. I am learning that I am important too. Because I have been so craving for attention from others I totally forgot myself. And even since my DTS. I learned a lot by identity and learning that I have to love myself first and so I can love others. If I am not happy to be alone, on myself. How can I ever satisfy myself? So I am
learning to see what makes me truly happy in life. What is important to me?
And I do love spending time with people I love and care about! Nothing wrong with this either, but I do think you need to love who you are first to be able to love others. And this love is only through God because He is love. And if I am only seeking love in people I am not seeking for the right love.

Love God. Love others as you love YOURself! So to love others it to love yourself first.

"The man answered, “‘You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your strength, and all your mind.’ And, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’””
‭‭Luke‬ ‭10:27‬ ‭NLT‬‬

It is crazy how much things God has been showing me even sometimes I don't see it myself. He has been speaking to me through my friends, the books I am reading and songs I have been listening lately.

Don't worry about what others may think of you, but be aware of how God sees you! He cares so much and He wants the very best for you!

And with this song below I am not saying don't wear make-up. Don't wear this or this. Or don't do this and this. I want to say do things that makes you happy and not others! Don't try so hard. (Haha, see in a way I also try to please the people who read this to not get me wrong... haha see still trying to please people. Oh you know what I am learning too ;) )

Song: Try- Colbie Caillat

Paris Je t'aime is doing so much more than I could think of. Even the smallest harvest is a harvest!

Hope it makes sense and hope to hear from you too!

Lots of Love and huggs,

Lindsay


  • 28 Juli 2017 - 23:00

    Rebekka Janssen-Karsseboom:

    Heeeey Lindssss!

    We miss you! and I say Amen!!! to the things you're learning!!
    I guess it's a process we are all going through. And everyone in a different way.
    BTW, love that song from Colbie!

    Keep learning and go find yourself in Christ, it will set you FREE! so you will talk about Jesus freely.

    God bless! love from your aunt Bekka

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Frankrijk, Parijs

Lindsay

Girl living her dream: traveling!

Actief sinds 09 Mei 2012
Verslag gelezen: 221
Totaal aantal bezoekers 95588

Voorgaande reizen:

01 December 2017 - 28 Mei 2018

New Beginnings Home

01 April 2017 - 16 Juni 2017

La la la France

14 September 2016 - 19 Februari 2017

YWAM Amsterdam

31 Augustus 2012 - 19 Januari 2013

Curacao

Landen bezocht: