UPDATE UPDATE! - Reisverslag uit Amsterdam, Nederland van Lindsay Janssen - WaarBenJij.nu UPDATE UPDATE! - Reisverslag uit Amsterdam, Nederland van Lindsay Janssen - WaarBenJij.nu

UPDATE UPDATE!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lindsay

01 Oktober 2016 | Nederland, Amsterdam

Dear lovely family and friends!

These past few weeks have been crazy already. I have moved in a lovely dorm with 11 other girls. We are in total with 16 people, from all around the world. We have people from america, madagascar, thailand, the netherlands, germany, england, south-africa, tanzania and brazilia. So it has been pretty awesome meeting new people and starting this journey with these lovely people.

We have been doing a lot already.

Every morning we start with breakfast at 7:30 am. (In the weekends from 8 to 9 pm but we can also skip breakfast and sleep in a bit, haha ;) ) After breakfast we have a hour for ourselves to get ready for class or/and have personal time with God. On Mondays we start with a base meeting. A base meeting is a meeting where we have worship and a short word with all of the people of our base not only my class. After base meeting we have a coffee break in our cafe. It is so pretty and it used to be the class room before. They have this corner in the wall where you can sit very nicely and just relax.

After coffee break we have lecture fase. We have different speaker every week and we have different topics. The first week we started with Fear of the Lord and Relationship. Not fearing like if we are scared or afraid of God, but like having respect and awe for Him. I really learned more about the character of God and His heart but also my identity in Christ. To learn to speak truth over my life and not listen to the voices in my head. It is a process but I like the fact that we all have different backgrounds and have different stories. We all are growing and learning together in our own ways. Last week topic was about person and work of the Holy Spirit.

There has happened a lot these past few weeks. It's a lot to write down now, but if you want to know what was going on, I think I can explain it better face to face than typing it all down. It is a lot to take in. It has been pretty awesome crazy!

So at 1 pm we always have lunch for a hour. After lunch we have workduties. I prepare the food, so I cut like green peppers, onions, tomatoes and do more stuff for preparing the food. It is so much fun because now I know how to slice the vegetables, haha. And the girl that is work with is so funny and she loves to sing a lot of songs. That is pretty fun! I really love my workduties!
After workduties we have another lecture fase or something else.

On Monday nights we have street evangelism. The first night we went for a prayer walk and prayed for the people and things around us. Last Monday we started as a group and split up in groups of two or three people. And we talked to some people and have a conversation with them. For me it was kind off hard to talk to a strangers about anything. So I wasn't able to chat with someone, but that was totally fine. And I am so happy that my staff is not pushing me in a direction I am not ready or comfortable with (yet). Our staff is amazing! We have an awesome joyful team.

During the week we go two or three times to the Tabernacle. Here we worship, pray, read our Bible and enjoy being in the presence of God. The atmosphere is so peaceful and calm over there. I really like being there.

Wednesdays after dinner, Saturdays and Sundays are our free days. Sunday mornings we go to church and last Sunday I went to Hillsong. It is a contemporary( with more up tempo music) church. This Sunday I am joining another church.

Last Saturday I went home with two girls to get my guitar and some more stuff and to see my family. It was really nice and strange at the same time to be back. I felt like a tourist myself but we had so much fun. It was good to see my parents, brother, aunts and cousins again.

The girls and I explored the city a bit and we also explored my village. It was such a pretty and fun day. We ate some bamisoup my lovely mom made for us! Thank you mom and dad for your hospital. Was so good seeing you all.

This is my blog for now! I could continue writing but for now I think this is a good start. I tried to write every week but the schedule is pretty full. So I will update probably on my free days.

I'm doing good and I have a lot of fun over here. If anyone wants to write me a letter or send me a card, please contact me on my social networks or leave a comment below, so I can give you my address :)

Have a wonderful and blessed weekend guys!

Huggss and lots of love,

Lindsay

ps. My blogs are going to be in English from now on ;)




  • 01 Oktober 2016 - 19:10

    Charmaine:

    I love reading your stories! God is doing some amazing things in your life!
    Live without fear! [ Isaiah 35:4 ] I know it's scary, but God is with you! Always and forever!

    I love you!
    xoxo. God bless you
    - aunt Charmaine


  • 01 Oktober 2016 - 22:18

    Aunt Bekka:

    Dear sweet Lindsay!!

    Love reading about your beautiful time. It's such a blessing that you can do this in your life now.
    Spending so much time with our Heavenly Father is the most precious thing in life and really the most important humans need to survive.

    Be blessed in doing what God has planned for you!

    Love from us all ;-)

  • 02 Oktober 2016 - 18:38

    Mama En Papa:

    Hi Lins,

    Very nice to read what you are doing every day. You learn so much to do things by faith and to trust Him in every step you make...What a blessed experience to do just things not in you comfort zone..Very good of the staff that they are patient to give you the time to learn but you know that the Lord is with you all the time He knows what is best for you so that you will grow closer to Him! I am excited to hear from you about the things which are to much to put in this blog..
    Many kisses and hugs from me and daddy, he also had read your blog but find it difficult to react in english.

    Love youxxxx


  • 05 Oktober 2016 - 20:51

    Floor Klaassen :

    Wauw, wat een heerlijke tijd heb je Linds! Goed om te lezen dat je het zo fijn naar je zin hebt en dat je nu goed groenten kan snijden hahaha ;-). Maar vooral dat je geestelijk zo mag groeien. Have fun!!! Plies geef me je postadres :D

    Liefs Floor

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lindsay

Girl living her dream: traveling!

Actief sinds 09 Mei 2012
Verslag gelezen: 302
Totaal aantal bezoekers 95580

Voorgaande reizen:

01 December 2017 - 28 Mei 2018

New Beginnings Home

01 April 2017 - 16 Juni 2017

La la la France

14 September 2016 - 19 Februari 2017

YWAM Amsterdam

31 Augustus 2012 - 19 Januari 2013

Curacao

Landen bezocht: