Stepping out of the boat journey - Reisverslag uit Amsterdam, Nederland van Lindsay Janssen - WaarBenJij.nu Stepping out of the boat journey - Reisverslag uit Amsterdam, Nederland van Lindsay Janssen - WaarBenJij.nu

Stepping out of the boat journey

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lindsay

17 Oktober 2016 | Nederland, Amsterdam

Hello everyone!

Finally a new update! :D

I am here now for over four weeks and it has been great so far. Living in Amsterdam has also been pretty awesome. This city is just so beautiful and there are many new things to discover over here. Amsterdam was always a nice city for me but just for a few hours, haha. I don't like crowded shopping areas, but I never really explored Amsterdam outside the shopping area. And I literally live so close to the central station, it takes 15 minutes to go there. Even though the Netherlands is a bike country, I don't miss mine. I guess because we walk to a lot of places together. And what I like about our building is that we are surrounded by cute neighborhoods, where it can be so different from the big city and I really like that.

Last Saturday (8 October) me and some other girls went to Volendam! What a beautiful village. I have never been there so I really felt like a tourist myself, haha. Is such a beautiful fisher place. A lot of boats and water! There even was this stroopwafel museum, what was pretty cool because a friend of mine over here LOVES stroopwafels so much. So she even made her own Stroopwafel. :D
Volendam is such a pretty calm and cute village, you should def check it out!

Last Saturday (15 October) we went to Haarlem to see the Corrie ten Boom house, what is now a museum. This was such an amazing time. Her story comes more to life, when you go there. I know a bit of her stories through my mom (thanks mom!) But I never really knew a lot of her. She was even involved with YWAM. That's so cool.
She is just so full of passion of sharing the Gospel and I didn't know that she traveled the world to tell her testimony after she left the concentration camp. And the power of Forgiveness in this story is so powerful!
She wrote many books and one of them is called 'The Hiding Place' and I was really happy to hear that we have this one in Dutch at our base! Can't wait to read it.

It is going pretty good but I am also learning a lot new things and that sometimes involves crying, but that is totally fine! I mean I am learning and growing a lot over here. And to be honest this is really something I needed.
The last few years I felt kinda being in an automatic pilot and I don't think that it is bad, but if you stick in there to long it gets to comfortable and than you won't grow. And I told God and myself to start getting out of the comfort zone and that is what is happening now, even though I am still afraid of some things. But that is totally okay, it's a process. Take one step at a time ;)

I try to keep you all updated and I never forgot you but know that I am not always able to reply really quick, even though I really want too!!, but I am thinking of you! And thank you all for praying over me and sending me mail. I really feel blessed knowing that you do think and pray over me!! :D

This week we will join a big event called Mission Possible; from Wednesday until Sunday. So today and tomorrow we don't have lecture. We will leave this Wednesday with the bus every morning and come back every evening, because we are going to volunteer. But we also will join some sermons! So I am pretty excited :)

If you like to join me on this journey please pray! :) I love to hear from you guys!

BIG HUGG

Blessings and love,

Lindsay

ps. I really love to get mail. So if you like to send me something let me know and I will send you my address :)











  • 17 Oktober 2016 - 15:01

    Gerrie:

    Leuk om te lezen hoe her allemaal gaat Lindsay jane!
    Miss you!

  • 18 Oktober 2016 - 00:45

    Charmaine :

    Nice blog! Can't wait to join your group for an evening next week! Love you! God bless. Miss you and I'm praying for you! Xoxo aunt Charmaine

  • 19 Oktober 2016 - 20:36

    Mama :

    Bijzonder allemaal wat je meemaakt vooral in je geloofswandel met de Heer...God is echt aan het werk in jouw leven! Goed dat je dit stap voor stap doet...zo wordt je meer en meer gevormd door Hem.
    Zie ook uit naar de 27e waar ik jou weer ga zien! liefs mama xxx Oh ja, oma Janssen bedankt je voor je lieve kaart ook kisses and hugs from you granny!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lindsay

Girl living her dream: traveling!

Actief sinds 09 Mei 2012
Verslag gelezen: 326
Totaal aantal bezoekers 95606

Voorgaande reizen:

01 December 2017 - 28 Mei 2018

New Beginnings Home

01 April 2017 - 16 Juni 2017

La la la France

14 September 2016 - 19 Februari 2017

YWAM Amsterdam

31 Augustus 2012 - 19 Januari 2013

Curacao

Landen bezocht: